Kids

Christa’s work in children’s literature stems from her passion for kids, imagination, and education. As a lover of words and parent to three inquisitive boys, Christa enjoys using her extensive writing and editing experience to create books and stories that engage children’s imagination.

Non-fiction books for kids

How Artificial Intelligence Will Impact Society, Red Line Editorial, Middle Grade through High School.

Destination Space: Space Stations. Red Line Editorial, Grades 5-8.

Doggie Data. Six non-fiction books for reluctant readers, Black Rabbit Books, Grades  4-6.

cover-justforlaughs_laughoutloudknockknockjokes_cover cover-justforlaughs_wildfunnybraintwisters_cover cover-justforlaughs_scaryspookyjokesmonsters_cover

Just for Laughs series: Wild, Funny Brain Twisters, Laugh Out Loud Knock Knock Jokes, Scary, Spooky Jokes About Monsters. Black Rabbit Books, Grades 4-6.

North American Animals: Mountain Lions. Non-fiction, Grades 3-5, North Star Editions via Red Line Editorial, Inc.

Science features for kids

“Seeing Spots,” Creature Feature, Keys for Kids, April/May/June 2016.

“Smart Like a Fox,” Creature Feature, Keys for Kids, Jan/Feb/March 2016.

Fiction for teens

The Shield is a 90,000-word YA fantasy novel. I’m currently seeking representation. Enjoy the first three chapters or read on for a synopsis.

A sixteen-year-old girl with a supernatural gift for self-protection sets out to rescue her family from a tyrant; but to succeed, she’ll need to work together with the tyrant’s son, a boy who will inherit his father’s gift for killing. The Shield will appeal to fans of Sabaa Tahir and Leigh Bardugo. This YA fantasy novel explores themes of family, trust, and self-determination.